Angel Bodies Fitness for Women











{February 25, 2013}   Finding and Keeping the Motivation to Get Off the Couch

9967345-relaxed-woman-sitting-on-sofa-with-unhealthy-snack

Are you at the turning point and need help finding motivation to get off the couch and get fit? For me, it took waking up one morning and looking at myself in the bathroom mirror and not recognizing myself anymore. I told myself “NO MORE!” and sat down that day and started setting goals for myself.

The key to finding motivation to stay on track is to figure out your “Why.” Why do you want to lose weight? Get fit? Eat healthier? Sit down with a piece a paper and pen and start jotting down all the reasons you should start working out and eating healthy. Is it that you want to be able to be more active with your children and in their sports? Or, possibly you are older and having a hard time playing with your grandchildren? Write down everything that you can think of how exercising and changing your lifestyle will positively affect your life. Then in a new column, start to write down all your personal fitness and weight goals. Be very specific when you start to set your fitness goals. Set a one month goal, three month goal, six month goal, nine month goal, and then a one year anniversary goal. Then I want you to start looking through magazines and find a picture of someone’s body type and shape you admire and tear it out of the magazine. Place the goals you have written out and the picture(s) somewhere in your house that you will see it often and on a daily basis, such as your refrigerator!!! Talk about deterring you from late night snacks! By taking these steps, you are making your goals concrete. You have made a firm decision and know exactly what you want to accomplish. Additionally, you are placing these goals were you will see them every day to help you with staying focused on your goals and to help hold yourself personally accountable.

Next, I want you to take a before picture of yourself in form-fitting exercise attire. As your progress each month, I want you to take a new picture on the same day of the month in similar clothes, lighting and setting. These are your progress pictures! By establishing progress pictures, which you can keep private if you choose, you can start to see how your body is starting to change. This has been a big motivation to me, as I was able to see the pounds start to fall off, my waist start to get smaller, and my muscles started to become more defined. You can also share your progress pictures on social media sites to show people your progress and in turn you will be amazed at all the support you will start to receive from friends and family. This could be another way to help you stay motivated and to have your inner circle help you to stay on track and accountable.

Lastly, find some really good workout music to help you get pumped up and to get through the rough spots when training. I found a list on Fitness Magazine “100 Best Workout Songs” that I think you will love. The songs are broken up into categories, such as Best Power Up Songs, Best Motivating Songs, Best Songs for Strength Training, and so forth. If you will go through this list and create you a workout playlist, you will definitely be motivated to work out because it will make it fun and you will actually look forward to putting on the headsets and zoning out for 30 minutes to an hour.

I hope this post helps you get kick started into motivation and gets you off the couch! Until next time…..Live STRONG. Live HEALTHY!

I used pictures of myself for motivation when I started to work out and lose weight. I liked being able to see the change in my body, it was a huge ego booster for me. It kept me motivated and eager to continue. The best feeling is shopping for clothes in a smaller size.

The list of songs was great. I have most of them in my iPod now!! I use my lunch break to run. I try to run 3-4 times a week for an hour. I average about 3 miles each time. Listening to music has helped me keep my mind off of running the same path everyday. Before I know it, my hour is up and I’m rushing back to work.

Another thing that has helped me to stay on track is having a partner. I run with a friend at work. Some days I really just don’t want to run, but he pushes me to go, holds me accountable. It’s nice to work out with a friend, that way you’re not in it by yourself, and you can’t quit as easily.



Thank you for your response! I am so glad that the progress pictures are working for you and are helping to keep you motivated! Just remember to keep up with it! You will continue to change each month! I am also glad that the songs were beneficial for you! I know for me, music helps me move my focus away from the pain and helps me keep moving. I think it is great that you have a partner to help keep you motivated and accountable. That is one reason I started my Facebook like page….to help people stay motivated and push them to be accountable for their life choices. :-) Wishing you all the best!!!



Leave a Reply

et cetera
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 191 other followers

